Skip to content

Not so retro . . .

March 8, 2011

I’m loving all the mid-century trends that have been cropping up for a while now.  Everything from aprons to wallpaper is taking a cue from the ’50’s.  But, today, we have to recognize something that remains decidedly non- mid- century in style; women’s rights.

Today is International Women’s Day and many women are experiencing some hard earned rights and freedoms. Last October saw the 90th anniversary of American women’s right to vote- amazing.

But, that doesn’t mean that things are completely equal.  Women are still earning seventy seven cents to the male dollar.  The discrepancies only increase for non- caucasian women.  Those figures have come a long way from previous earning comparisons but it still requires further progress.

So, today take a moment to think about how far we’ve come as a society.  I have an adorable apron I received as a birthday gift, and I wear it when I bake for fun, but I recognize that no one in my family has ever made me feel that a woman’s place is in the kitchen.  If I had been born in a different decade that might not have been the case.  Then, additionally, think about how much further we have to go and what you want your contribution to be.

-katy

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

