Skip to content

How to keep your pies safe.

February 4, 2011

So, I recently stumbled on a listing on etsy for a pie safe.  This led me to explore more about them, and I completely fell in love.

My favorites aren’t the large, kitchen hutch- style ones, but the smaller, two- three pie cupboards.  If I own a pie safe I want it to be a strictly pie-only space.

Yellow Vintage Pie Safe

This one is my favorite, I love it’s worn in feel.  It makes me think about all the pies it’s held; pies for family get- togethers, holidays, and summer pies using up all those freshly picked berries.  But, if I can’t find an authentic pie safe I’m definitely adding it to Ian’s furniture projects.

Emile Henry Pie Dishes

I personally, don’t have pies baked fresh every week so I think that it would be a great place to store your favorite pie dishes for safe keeping.  I am currently coveting these Emile Henry Pie Dishes.  They are handmade and you can buy them at Williams- Sonoma.  They are one of the first things I registered for when Ian and I got engaged, and pretty much the only reason I set up a registry at that store in the first place.  I just can’t decide between the two colors shown.

Photo Courtesy of the kitchn

Lemon Meringue Pie

But, when you do want to use the pie safe in its truest form, you might as well pick a pie where the colors complement each other, right?  And it doesn’t hurt when it’s delicious with tart citrus flavor and a hint of sweetness in the crust.

photo courtesy of Bon Appetit

And if you’re in the need for pie inspiration, please read American Pie: Slices of Life (and Pie) From America’s Back Roads.  This book by Pascale Le Draoulec left me salivating and reminiscing.

-katy

No comments yet

Leave a comment